The Arkansas Water Environment Association is a member association of the Water Environment Federation.

The WEF is an international organization made up of water, wastewater and environmental professionals, educators and students dedicated to restoration and protection of the Earth’s precious water resources.

Get the latest news on water quality research and technology through our publications, conferences, and other training opportunities.

WEF is your access to water knowledge and invaluable networking opportunities with more than 30,000 professionals and thought leaders in water quality.

The foundation of WEF membership is the philosophy that every individual member contributes to making our world a better place to live by working in water quality.



2023 | Jerry Martin
2022 | Sam Selig
2021 | Johnny Lunsford
2020 | Chris Enloe


2019 | Chris Enloe
2018 | Larry Oelrich
2017 | David Poe
2016 | Tiffany Mallard
2015 | Aaron Benzing
2014 | Thea Hughes
2013 | Duyen Tran
2012 | Lance McAvoy
2011 | Lisa Ellington
2010 | Lisa Ellington


2009 | Lisa Ellington
2008 | Jane Hurley
2007 | Roy Reed
2006 | Roy Reed
2005 | Darrell Phillips
2004 | Kevin Hall
2003 | Tim Cleveland
2002 | No Record
2001 | No Record
2000 | John Jarratt


1999 | No Record
1998 | Mike Thomason
1997 | Daniel Dawson
1996 | Barry McCormick
1995 | No Record
1994 | Stanley B. Suel



The Arkansas Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers is a group of water professionals that have contributed back into the industry, excelling in their field and also volunteering their time as an advocate for the treatment and handling of water and wastewater. Each member can be identified at water and wastewater functions by the distinct golden, round nosed shovel that is displayed on their apparel. The Shovel Pin is also adorned with a diamond to represent our great State.

The AR 5S may induct up to four candidates per year as nominated by their peers. A candidate should contribute as a committee member, committee chairperson, or be a presenter for AWWA, AWEA, WEF, SWAWWA, or the Arkansas Water and Wastewater Managers Association. The induction may also include one honorary member per cycle that is a member of WEF, has contributed to our industry in Arkansas, and who now lives outside the State.

The AR 5S was established for the advancement of fellowship and good fun in and for the Arkansas Water Environment Association.



Thomas Crowley (Honorary) | Carollo Engineers, Inc.
Susan Merideth | Jonesboro City Water and Light
Eric Wassell | LRWRA
Perry Nelson | Prescott Water and Light
Jornetta Shaw | Pine Bluff Wastewater Utility


Meg Kelch | Hawkins-Weir
Megan House | Brown & Caldwell
Jean Block | Little Rock Water Reclamation Authority
Liz Haluch (Honorary) | Hydro International


Alma Clark | Mountain Home Utility Department
Jennifer Enos | Springdale Water Utility
Jerry Martin | Garver
Scotty Boggs | Searcy Water


Greg Ramon | Little Rock Water Reclamation
Pat “Chris” Sharp | Humbard Construction
Tim Luther | Jacobs Engineers
Vincent Miles | Pine Bluff Wastewater


2019 | Cathy Reed, Vicki Stanley, Tad Bohannon, Cary Beth Lipscomb, Lucy Allen Hon
2018 | Jay Summers, Sam Selig, Michelle Strange, Heath Ward, Bruce Wolfe
2017 | Alecia Patton, JoAnna Brown, Marcia Sherony, Walter Collins, Johnny Lunsford
2016 | Mike Ross, Wes Ivory, Stephen Jeffus, Tom Myers, Ashley Massey
2015 | Chad Cooley, Bob Williams, Tim Tinsley, Chad House
2014 | Tiffany Mallard, Clay Thompson, David Poe
2013 | Sam Zehtaban, Clint Bell, David Jurgens, Larry Oelrich
2012 | Jessica Keahey, Thea Hughes, William Winn, Billy Ammons
2011 | Duyen Tran, Mike Roberts, Stan Miller, Lane Crider
2010 | Aaron Benzing, Lance McAvoy, Chris Enloe


2009 | Louise Hogan, Craig Johnson
2008 | Howell Anderson, Paul Selig
2007 | Suzanne Stair
2006 | Letita Rusch, Jerome Alford
2005 | Newton White, Lisa Gilbreath
2004 | Thad Luther, Jane Hurley
2003 | Darrell Phillips
2002 | Kevin Hall
2001 | Jack Kelley, Roy Reed
2000 | Sharon Taylor


1999 | Tim Cleveland
1998 | Jerry Wayne Kenny
1997 | Al Prieur
1996 | John Jarratt
1995 | Cindy Garner
1994 | Fred Oswald
1993 | Mike Thomason, James Beazley III
1992 | Dan Dawson, Barry McCormick
1991 | Kenneth Johnson, Martin Roy, Rick Barger
1990 | Rick Barger


1989 | Stanley Suel, Reggie Corbitt
1988 | Robert Blanz, Bruce Varner
1987 | No Influent
1986 | Tom Skinner, Harold Hull
1985 | Jim McClelland, Billy Bourlon
1984 | Mike Leurs, Gene Andrews
1983 | Jerry Gardner, Ron Pierce
1982 | Larry Weir, Bill Turner, Frank Murphy, Carl Reams

Scroll to top